Governing Board

Vivian Nutton


is an Emeritus Professor of the History of Medicine at UCL and at the First Moscow State Medical University. A Fellow of the British
British Academy and the German Academy of Science, he has written extensively on all aspects of medicine.
Jonathan Barry

Vice President

is an Emeritus Professor of History at the University of Exeter and Guest Professor at LMU in Munich. He is the co-editor of the series Palgrave
Palgrave Historical Studies in Witchcraft and Magic and the co-founder of the Centre for Medical History at Exeter.
Fabrizio Bigotti


is an Italian-British historian working on the cross-disciplinary links of history of medicine, science, technology, and philosophy. He
He is a Senior Research Fellow at the University of Würzburg as well as Honorary Fellow at the University of Exeter.
Fabio Zampieri

Vice Director

is an Associate Professor of history of medicine at the University of Padua. His work focuses on the history of medical sciences from the
Antiquity to the early modern and contemporary debates, with an emphasis on the periods from the 15th to  the 20th century.
Fabiola Zurlini

Vice Director

is a historian of medical education and currently the Vice-Director and the Director in Chief of the Studio Firmano (Marche). Her research
Her research covers aspects of early modern book history, medical bibliography and medicine at the court of Christina of Sweden.

Delegates of Partners Institutions

Michael Stolberg

JMU Würzburg

A physician and historian by training, Michael Stolberg is chair of the history of medicine at the University of Würzburg, Germany. He has
published widely on learned medical theory and practice, the patient experience, and the body in early modern Europe.
Alun Withey

University of Exeter

is Senior Lecturer in History at the University of Exeter. As an expert in early modern medical history, his research interests include domestic hun
and especially medical remedy collections, gender and the sick role, and the lived experience of sickness in early modern Britain.

Scientific Coordination

Tomaso Maria Pedrotti Dell’Acqua

Institutio Santoriana Fondazione Comel